Diff’rent Strokes

What do you think of when you hear the phrase “Spring Break?”  Wild times in Daytona? A vacay someplace tropical? Or, if you’re a family, a visit to Disney?  Most of my fellow teachers are spending their much-needed break relaxing, either away or at home.

Here’s a surprise.  Not me.

Oh, I’m relaxing, all right.  It just takes on a different form.

Here’s another surprise.  That form is Shirley.

shirley-temple-modeling-spring-frock-of-shantung-with-hat-shaped-buttons-ca-1936,2296839

Instead of working on my tan (which is futile, anyway), I’m working on yet another Shirley-centric project.

On April 15, Shirley’s hometown of Santa Monica, CA will be unveiling an exhibit in her name.  It will feature costumes (many loaned by friends.  Yeah, I have friends who OWN Shirley costumes!), memorabilia and personal artifacts, most of which were acquired at the two recent Love, Shirley Temple auctions.  The items will be arranged chronologically, a timeline of her life.  And to tell the story, images and text will be posted.

Guess who’s been helping out with said signage?

Like my work on the auction catalog this fall, having the opportunity to participate in this exhibit is fulfilling.  And humbling.   And absolutely unbelievable.  How did I go from a NJ schoolteacher* with a not-so-hidden ST obsession to a consultant (my word, not anyone else’s!) on what’s happening in the world of Shirley?

So when I’m standing in front of the exhibit on April 15, there will be tears of emotion.  And one of those emotions will be pride.  Pride lasts longer than tan lines.

*still a NJ schoolteacher, and no plans for any changes along those lines!

4 thoughts on “Diff’rent Strokes

  1. Wonderful, Melissa! I am so proud of you, my friend! If my chest could puff up and out further… hahahaha. If I could be there with my Army mates, I sure would be! But I love you all and wait with bated breath for photos, to see all the excitement and each event you attend. Hugs 😙

  2. Awesome… Go Melissa… I think you need to be Dr. Melissa with a Ph.D. In Shirleyology. We love you and appreciate all you do for us and our connection.. …Shirley. Thanks again Vickie

Leave a Reply

