When It Rains, It Pours

11990518_10207481405494972_7858619372592006579_n

At least when it comes to blogging, it seems.  Weeks without a post, then two within a few days.  But you know what they say – strike while the iron is hot, which in this case means two things:  I have something to blog about AND I have the time to do so!

My last post was about the current unit of study concerning the moon.  In a moment, I’ll let the photos speak for themselves, but here’s the backstory.  We’re learning about the moon’s phases (and when I say WE, I mean WE – every year I have to relearn waxing gibbous and waning crescent). We have several cool tools to illustrate this, including a light-up moon that demonstrates each phase.  So today, I gave them THE ULTIMATE CHALLENGE.  Just by saying it was THE ULTIMATE CHALLENGE in a deep, reality-tv-game-show voice had them hooked.  Working alone, with partners or in groups, their task was to identify each phase by a description.  When I tell you I need an answer key for this one, I’m not kidding.  Distributed the paper, and they were off….

im1.shutterfly-2 im1.shutterfly im1.shutterfly-1 im1.shutterfly-4 im1.shutterfly-3 im1.shutterfly-6 im1.shutterfly-5

This last little guy was the first one done.  He graciously declined offers to work with others, and when he was done he told me, “I knew I could do it alone!”  That feeling that he had?  It’s called pride.

Leave a Reply

