I Lost

My last blog post had me fighting against a cold – the first of the season, so in that way I consider myself lucky.  But only in that way.  Because I lost the battle in a big way.  I could take the congestion and coughing and throat irritation – could even teach through it.  But I lost my voice.  As in, virtually completely.  That hasn’t happened in a dozen years or so.  But here I am, on day 5 of no voice and I am not happy.

Yes, I’ve been downing tea with lemon and honey.  Yes, I’ve been humidifying the air to soothe my throat.  Yes, I’ve even chewed on raw ginger root.  And yes, I’ll make an appointment with an ENT on Monday.

But have I rested my voice?  Yes and no.  Took a day off, then “taught” for two, and now that it’s the weekend, I haven’t uttered a single word.

Teaching without a voice was quite an experience.  With an improvised system of bells, bangs and claps, I was able to get the students’ attention.  I sat in front of the computer and typed my instructions so that they were displayed on the smartboard, and somehow we were able to get by.  Thank heaven second graders can read, and thank goodness they were well-behaved….I think it was the shock of their teacher without a voice!  I expect tomorrow will be much of the same.

In happier news, yesterday was the birthday of pioneer author Laura Ingalls Wilder and Google, the coolest of the cool, commemorated it with their signature artwork:

10353045_10204323838150951_1458239887526185946_n

And the alerts came through!  A parent (who also happens to work for Google!) tweeted me about it, and an administrator emailed me.  Of course, I saw it for myself at 2:30 a.m., when I was up coughing and surfing the net.  Perfect timing, because we’re in the process of putting together a summer camp brochure for our district, and naturally I’m going to host my pioneer camp once again.

It didn’t bring my voice back, but it certainly brought a smile to my face.

url-3

Now will Google commemorate Shirley’s April 23rd birthday?  I’ll be checking!

Leave a Reply

