Slightly Obsessed

The title of this post is misleading.  Actually, it’s grossly under representative of the feeling I have for gingerbread.

Unlike my love of  my girl Shirley Temple, I cannot pinpoint when gingerbread-themed ANYTHING became a full-fledged obsession with me.  I do know that it’s been going on for years.   Below is my gingerbread village – an eclectic group of gingerbread items that I add to every year.

ry%3D400-2

Fun fact:  it’s the only place that I allow colored lights – I’m an all-white lights kind of gal.

My love of any thing gingerbread-ish spilled over into my classroom many, many years ago.  In the days of yore, when I taught kindergarten, we did an entire gingerbread unit – the hunt throughout the school, the baking and decorating and eating of those spicy cookies – a full-out THEME.  Ahhhhh…those were the days.  When I taught first grade, we always read and compared as many gingerbread stories as we possibly could in the month of December, and then wrote our own versions.  I still continue to add to my book collection, even though it’s not a curriculum focus in second grade.

ry%3D400-1

I’ll read quite a few this month, and the children will ready many more on their own.  And gingerbread kids were the perfect first holiday craft (of many!) today.  We followed a simple glyph legend and created adorable lil guys and gals.

ry%3D400-3

We broke out the collection of “special crayons” for this project, which includes glitter, metallic, twistables and construction paper crayons.  Sometimes it’s the littlest things….

ry%3D400

I’ve gotta learn how to take straight photos!!!

Check out the embellishments – candy canes, superhero capes, aprons, hats, candy – there’s even a Luigi (or Mario?) gingerbread cookie.

url-2

Even Shirley thinks gingerbread is sweet.  And she should know.

Leave a Reply

