I Should Not Be Blogging

It’s 7:05 am.  On a Friday.  I’m usually at school by around 7:30 am each day.  Looks like I’ll be a little late today.  Because I wanted to blog this before I forget…or before life gets in the way.

Yesterday afternoon, my classroom was noisy.  Noisier than usual.  I don’t mind a little noise.  I don’t mind a lot of noise, especially if it is warranted.  And yesterday’s noise was.

ry%3D400-1

If anyone walked into the classroom when the above picture was taken, they might have been surprised by the noise level.  But if they listened to what was being said, they’d understand.  I think.  I hope!  Because they would have heard phrases like, “Waxing gibbous!  I know it’s waxing gibbous!!”  and “No, waning crescent.  Look here!”

As part of our study on the moon, I gave the class what I called a super challenge sheet.  Using written descriptions and a moon phase chart, they had to write the correct phase of the moon.   I told them it was so challenging that they’d have to work in groups, and work they did.  Look under the table above.  Those kids are really working (I watched!).

ry%3D400

One little boy was not daunted when he got a few incorrect on the first try.  He actually said, AFTER I corrected his paper, “I love this!’ and he was bursting with excitement as he ran back to his group to try again.  He got it.  It wasn’t about getting the answers right.  It was about the process, the engagement, the learning.

Yes, sometimes noise does equal learning.

It’s 7:15.  Time to hit the shower and prepare for another day.  Hope it will be as rewarding as yesterday.  It probably will.

2 thoughts on “I Should Not Be Blogging

  1. This is one reason I want you to be Matthew’s 2nd grade teacher! Love this and love you! You make me want to be a better teacher!

Leave a Reply

