No Sweat

Anyone who knows me – even slightly – knows how I feel about the heat.  And sweat.  And yet, this summer I’ve done more perspiring than I ever have before.  Much of this has to do with my advancing age and time of life – some days are like one long hot flash.   Most of the melting is done at Jazzercise, where it is acceptable – desirable, even – to sweat.   But I’ve done my fair share of perspiring in my classroom, as well as others’ classrooms.  Even the a/c turned up to the arctic setting doesn’t always help this hot property! 

Here are a few things that I’ve poured some sweat equity into:

20140813_083722

My second grade colleague moved to first grade (boo for me, yay for her!) and together with her entire family, we’ve painted, organized and decorated the room to within an inch of its life.  Here’s the pennant I made for her.  I was inspired by Melanie at Schoolgirl Style.

20140813_082503

She’s doing a primary colored room.  Notice how the border and the banner are both triangular?  Totally not planned!  After I took this photo, I finished off the edges of the banner with apple cutouts.  It’s all in the details.

20140813_123455

Here’s my room.  Last year I experimented with some of the Whole Brain Teaching techniques.  Here are my WBT rules.  In the background, over the door, you can see the pennant I made for myself.

20140813_084423

Here’s a closer look.

20140813_123446

I completely stole this ribbon-woven-in-a-plastic-basket look from Schoolgirl Style.  Some would say I have too much time on my hands.  I’ve been accused of worse.

20140813_123448

Another classroom shot.  I have to work on taking pictures with my camera that are not off kilter.  

I’ve also been working on sprucing up the office bulletin boards and walls.  I’ll try to remember to take a few pictures of that as well.  As I’ve said in a previous post, once I get started….

One thought on “No Sweat

  1. Wow! Your room looks ready for students! Recently, I experimented with WBT – I am excited like you to place more importance on the management technique! I wish you well!

Leave a Reply

