History Repeats Itself

Last year I blogged about THE BEACH.  Specifically, our annual second grade field trip to Sandy Hook.  Last year was my first time experiencing it as a teacher.  And in many ways it is the mother of all field trips – an hour plus ride on a bus, every kid putting on waders and taking a turn seining in the OCEAN, running on the sandy beaches collecting shells.  Returning home, tired, sunburned and sandy.  With each student accounted for.  Last year I did it.  Didn’t really want to.  Glad I did.  

Image

And now I have to do it again.  And just like last year, I will survive the inherent stress that comes with any field trip.  I will survive the sunburn – which I will get no matter how much sunscreen I use.  I will not lose any students.  And it will be a memorable experience for all.   

And I’ll have a whole year before I have to do it again.

Leave a Reply

