Beginnings

After all, that’s what the new year is all about.  New starts, resolutions, promises, goals, yadda yadda.  And yes, I have a few of each.  But to many teachers, New Year’s Day is really the end…the end of a glorious holiday vacation.  

Image

 

I shouldn’t complain.  This year Christmas fell on a Wednesday, making our break nice and long.  But it’s never long enough, is it?  Now, some districts don’t go back until January 6, but I bet even those teachers will feel like their holiday went by all too fast.

So the days of eating, merriment, sleeping and relaxing are coming to an end.  And this time tomorrow, when I’m packing the students up for dismissal, it’ll feel like I never left.  And there is part of me that’s looking forward to it.  If for no other reason than to empty my teacher bag and put away the things I’m made and purchased over the holidays.  Because I’m never really OFF off.  Witness: 

Image

 

50% off holiday items at the party and dollar stores…because Christmas WILL come again!

And so might another leisurely day at home….snow is in the forecast!!

Here’s to 2014!

Leave a Reply

