The End is Near…

Of course, I’m talking about the summer.  But really, it should read “The beginning is here.”  Of school.  Of new crayons.  Of happy, shiny, eager faces…those of the kids and this teacher. Today is Labor Day, and I’ll be (gladly) laboring once again, putting the final touches on the jungle classroom.  And I must say, that I’ve had a good time doing it, because my friend understands the following about me:

Image

There WAS some collaboration (I’m not a monster!!), but given our mutual trust and respect (and knowing that I’m going back to my own building next week, and she can change anything she’d like!!), I was able to create the space that I’d envisioned.  And most importantly, she’s wild about it.  Pun most certainly intended.

So, the summer ends on a high note.  Tomorrow we return to professional development. followed by a meet-and-greet with our students.  Then, due to Rosh Hashanah, we don’t start teaching until Monday.  And then we hit the ground running.  And no matter how much sleep I caught up on this summer, I’ll be bone tired until Christmas vacay.  But that’s the life I’ve chosen.  Wouldn’t want it any other way.  But remind me of that, when I’m growling at the 6:00 am alarm tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

