Hollywood Revisited

I’m back with a few more photos of my Hollywood-themed classroom!Image

Several years ago, some brilliant person out there in cyberspace came up with the idea of using beanie babies to help teach reading strategies.  I believe the original website is now defunct, but you’ll find variations on this idea out there.  I extended the idea to cover elaboration in writing too!

Image

Here’s a photo of the front of my desk; behind it you can see the gorgeous cubby area!

Image

A corner showing some of my leveled books as well as math manipulatives.

IMG_1396

A view from my classroom door. Another bulletin board and my pride and joy – my AIR CONDITIONER!

IMG_1397

A bit further to the left – this is my small group area. The closet doors have my objectives and Core Standards on them. The pockets are adhesive and I just slip the papers inside!

IMG_1405

Students desks as they appeared on visitation day.

More beanie babies - these are for reading and comprehension strategies.

More beanie babies – these are for reading and comprehension strategies.

A close up of the cubbies.  I ADORE my baskets of books.  Really Good Stuff has some REALLY GOOD STUFF!

A close up of the cubbies. I ADORE my baskets of books. Really Good Stuff has some REALLY GOOD STUFF!

Leveled books, blocks and toys for indoor recess and a big, beautiful bulletin board!
Leveled books, blocks and toys for indoor recess and a big, beautiful bulletin board!

One thought on “Hollywood Revisited

  1. Love it!! I remember visiting this beautiful classroom and getting a tour. So exciting for me to see all these interesting and appealing items, colors, sections – I imagine a second grader is thrilled!! Betsy

Leave a Reply

